US President Plans to Add "A Few Countries" to the Travel Ban List

In a recent interview, the current US President says he plans to add more countries to a travel ban that prohibits nearly all people from seven countries from traveling (or immigrating) to the United States.

Three years ago, dubbed the “Muslim Ban” by the media, the US president proposed closing the US border to citizens of seven countries – Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen – by restricting individuals from applying for visas.

After a couple of failed attempts to implement the law, a third version of the policy was upheld by a divided Supreme Court in June 2018.

A few of the original countries – Iraq, Sudan, and Chad – were covered in the first iteration of the presidents ban, but later removed. To withstand legal scrutiny, the administration released a watered-down version and the Supreme Court upheld the ban in a 5-4 vote.

However, now seven other countries across the world are rumored to be added to the list in the coming days.

The White House has not confirmed the information but US media are reporting: Belarus, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania are the new additions to the ban.

The new travel ban is expected to be announced on Monday – 27 January 2020.


Perhaps this is a reason that the number of people traveling to America has plummeted.

Anyway, I’m just posting this for informational purposes. I don’t have any questions but I know a few subscribers are headed to Tanzania (which is a beautiful country) this year so let this serve as a heads-up.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s